~NNGO IZ SRS BSNS~
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Latest topics
» What I am watching right now
Today at 9:17 pm by Bekah

» NNGO Airship Amenities & Crew [Guild Level: 81]
Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:10 am by Beth

» The Music Thread!
Thu Sep 28, 2017 6:12 pm by Bekah

» Games to Replace RK - Reviews
Sun Sep 17, 2017 6:26 pm by fhead

» Queen of Ireland
Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:52 am by jaqk

» How's life treating ya?
Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:10 pm by Trinity

» Laugh of the day
Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:26 pm by Bekah

» Introductions
Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:33 pm by anto_capone

» Bundlenomics Exposé, or, Where the Cheap Games At?
Mon May 29, 2017 9:25 pm by anto_capone

» Communication with the Royal English Embassy
Sun May 21, 2017 4:55 pm by Bekah

Navigation
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
Who is online?
In total there are 2 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests

None

Most users ever online was 66 on Sat Mar 12, 2016 8:37 pm
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Discord


Share | 
 

 Games to Replace RK - Reviews

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
anto_capone
Royal
avatar

Posts : 16393
Join date : 2010-09-11
Age : 38
Location : Che cazzo fai?

Character sheet
DDO character: Ranger
RK Profession: Blacksmith

PostSubject: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:13 am

Hey all,

If any of you have any ideas of games that might possibly replace RK for most of us, please post the game here so we can check it out.

No games with monthly subscriptions please, although games that are purchase to play are permissible. I am wondering if we should forego browser games or if we should look in that genre first.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.nngo.biz
Trinity
Noble
avatar

Posts : 2920
Join date : 2010-09-16
Age : 35
Location : Planet Earth

Character sheet
DDO character: Paladin
RK Profession: Butcher

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:30 pm

Not sure if it's just because the crappy week I've had but I've done some searching and nothing really looks interesting that I've come across so far.

I enjoy the forum/roleplaying experience more than most of the games tbh, but it's nice having something to do and interact with in between posts etc. Idk...not into the whole vampire, zombie, anime stuff either, guess I'm just old? Ahem, old school? LOL, sounded better than calling myelf old O.o

Do need something to zone into tho, definitely would be nice.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ahlia
Knight
avatar

Posts : 1007
Join date : 2012-05-14
Age : 26
Location : An Gort

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Miller

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:26 pm

I am totally done with text based RPGs. Just saying.
I need something that I can vegetate to and whack people with a sword without thinking.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
HELGENATOR
Serf


Posts : 23
Join date : 2015-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sat Jan 30, 2016 7:53 am

http://www.strongholdkingdoms.com/

New game world 'Island warfare' coming up next week. Pay2win game but it's fun with friends.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dee_Snider
Knight
avatar

Posts : 1819
Join date : 2010-09-20
Age : 49
Location : Robbing folks

Character sheet
DDO character: Wizard
RK Profession: Blacksmith

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:02 pm

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Trinity
Noble
avatar

Posts : 2920
Join date : 2010-09-16
Age : 35
Location : Planet Earth

Character sheet
DDO character: Paladin
RK Profession: Butcher

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:41 pm

Dee! DDO! I'd like to get back into it, I'm limited because of the crap gear I have...been seriously thinking on snagging kiddos computer during the day lol

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aidan
Noble
avatar

Posts : 2363
Join date : 2010-09-14
Age : 22

Character sheet
DDO character: Fighter
RK Profession: None

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:09 pm

What game (in existence or not) would people like to play? I might be able to give it a bash at some point.

As far as RK, everyone recognises it's dead. It's gotten to a point where I play RK because I enjoy this forum, not the other way around.

_________________

IG NAME: "Aidann."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
anto_capone
Royal
avatar

Posts : 16393
Join date : 2010-09-11
Age : 38
Location : Che cazzo fai?

Character sheet
DDO character: Ranger
RK Profession: Blacksmith

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:44 am

HELGENATOR wrote:
http://www.strongholdkingdoms.com/

New game world 'Island warfare' coming up next week. Pay2win game but it's fun with friends.  

Tried it, lost interest pretty quickly- even though I also paid in that game Neutral

Dee_Snider wrote:
DDO

I'll always love DDO, but in honestly I havent played for a year or something. I miss it, but I haven't been in the mood for an MMO in awhile.

It's an option though, those all NNGO raids we did were some of the most fun times I've ever had in gaming. Very Happy

Aidan, that is probably the best question. Maybe we should make a list of games we've played together in the past, and what was good/bad about it?

We've played a lot of games together already, lot of them seem to be flash in the pan types. ZombieRPG, PokerRPG, Fight of Ages, Tribal Wars...

I mean fuck at this point we should just add some mini games to this site and get a better chat box or something Razz

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.nngo.biz
Trinity
Noble
avatar

Posts : 2920
Join date : 2010-09-16
Age : 35
Location : Planet Earth

Character sheet
DDO character: Paladin
RK Profession: Butcher

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:41 am

Same here Aidan! And making a list would be great! I enjoyed FoA, but haven't logged back in since Jill and me checked it out again, it was screwed up, all our gear, stats etc. were gone, said they were working on it and I stuck it out about a couple weeks...maybe. By then nothing had been done that I'd seen :-/

Secfenia, think some folks might still play it, it was cool at first but then I realized they (admin/mods) were pretty biased when it came to certain players playing. I'll have to get some coffee in me before trying to think of more.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Achilles_
Admin


Posts : 1293
Join date : 2010-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:28 pm

Never tried Secfenia. I really enjoyed FoA, especially the first couple of weeks when we had to work for our guild charter. It's only problem was it was too small. We dominated within a week and it lost its appeal.

I tried stronghold kingdoms for a while too. Don't remember why but I ended up quitting too.
I like browser games because of the convenience tbh. I don't have many options for games on a Macbook, so thats always fun. The beauty of RK is the whole 5 minute a day option it gives you. Anywhere else, you'll fall way behind and it becomes too much of a hassle.

That said i'll keep an eye out too.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bekah
Noble
avatar

Posts : 3327
Join date : 2010-09-13
Age : 45

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Blacksmith

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:56 pm

http://en.anno-online.com/en/play

I have started playing this.  It is free to play and runs fine on my browser (only tried it on chrome so far)  I haven't checked out the forums, but you can add friends and form guilds.  I don't know if there is a pvp element to it as so far it seems pve.  It is not too bad so far, a bit like a simplified Europa Universalis type game.  It is not an alternate RK, but it is playable. Oh and I am on the europe server "Mermaid"

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Trinity
Noble
avatar

Posts : 2920
Join date : 2010-09-16
Age : 35
Location : Planet Earth

Character sheet
DDO character: Paladin
RK Profession: Butcher

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:34 pm

Looks like I already have an account for this game, Bekah, although I don't recall playing it? I'm logged in though and it's Trinkles. Smile

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ahlia
Knight
avatar

Posts : 1007
Join date : 2012-05-14
Age : 26
Location : An Gort

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Miller

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Wed Feb 03, 2016 1:52 am

Hell, in the meantime we could just bring our characters to this forum, RP as nomads in a forest or whatnot. Have a long, ongoing RP of how we would survive in the wilds and there would be events that could bring us together or tear us apart. Like a buried treasure that only two people can access, and we all stumble upon each other in the forest or some shit and either buddy up, or if we're already buddied, it turns into some hunger games meta bullshit, or we could get to the treasure at the end and backstab
our crops can be randomly wiped out which means we'd have to beg for food from our neighbours or forage

and we'd have someone doing dice rolls to check actions and keep on top of it all
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Minority01
Commoner
avatar

Posts : 139
Join date : 2014-11-17
Age : 21
Location : Australia

Character sheet
DDO character: Fighter
RK Profession: Blacksmith

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:02 am

ahlia wrote:
Hell, in the meantime we could just bring our characters to this forum, RP as nomads in a forest or whatnot. Have a long, ongoing RP of how we would survive in the wilds and there would be events that could bring us together or tear us apart. Like a buried treasure that only two people can access, and we all stumble upon each other in the forest or some shit and either buddy up, or if we're already buddied, it turns into some hunger games meta bullshit, or we could get to the treasure at the end and backstab
our crops can be randomly wiped out which means we'd have to beg for food from our neighbours or forage

and we'd have someone doing dice rolls to check actions and keep on top of it all

This seems eerily familiar Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bekah
Noble
avatar

Posts : 3327
Join date : 2010-09-13
Age : 45

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Blacksmith

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:37 am

Or we could play this:  http://freeronin.com/gr_files/SiF_Fastplay.pdf

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ahlia
Knight
avatar

Posts : 1007
Join date : 2012-05-14
Age : 26
Location : An Gort

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Miller

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:02 pm

Minority01 wrote:
ahlia wrote:
Hell, in the meantime we could just bring our characters to this forum, RP as nomads in a forest or whatnot. Have a long, ongoing RP of how we would survive in the wilds and there would be events that could bring us together or tear us apart. Like a buried treasure that only two people can access, and we all stumble upon each other in the forest or some shit and either buddy up, or if we're already buddied, it turns into some hunger games meta bullshit, or we could get to the treasure at the end and backstab
our crops can be randomly wiped out which means we'd have to beg for food from our neighbours or forage

and we'd have someone doing dice rolls to check actions and keep on top of it all

This seems eerily familiar Razz

Yeah, I got bored of that one when I realised that RK was beyond dead.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Silenus
Citizen
avatar

Posts : 490
Join date : 2012-04-05
Location : Lios Mór, or the high seas

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Carpenter

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Thu Feb 04, 2016 4:33 am

Bekah wrote:
http://en.anno-online.com/en/play

I have started playing this.  It is free to play and runs fine on my browser (only tried it on chrome so far)  I haven't checked out the forums, but you can add friends and form guilds.  I don't know if there is a pvp element to it as so far it seems pve.  It is not too bad so far, a bit like a simplified Europa Universalis type game.  It is not an alternate RK, but it is playable.  Oh and I am on the europe server "Mermaid"
I've tried it out sinbce you posted this link, seems to me its primarily a solitairegame, though there might be a little interaction through a guild, though I havent found out yet how to join one, have you?


ETA: found a "newer" version  of Anno (also from Ubisoft) - its called Settlers: http://www.thesettlersonline.com/en/play

its a couple of years newer and thus probably has a more active userbase - at least thats the impression I got after playing it less than a day: I already got a 'friend'-request completely out of the blue, and also another contact from a more experienced played offering a mail with some help and links to more extensive help-guides
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Francesca.
Squire
avatar

Posts : 579
Join date : 2012-10-11

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:52 am

Back to top Go down
View user profile
viery
Citizen
avatar

Posts : 493
Join date : 2010-09-25
Age : 37
Location : ireland

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Butcher

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Mon Feb 15, 2016 7:24 am

I have been playing Ikariam for years, really good fun game and we can easily accommodate a lot of players.

http://en.ikariam.gameforge.com/

I`d be interested in playing other games as well.

Hope everyone is well btw!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Selyna
Admin
avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2010-09-12

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Baker

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Mon Feb 15, 2016 10:37 pm

Ikariam is still a thing? I stopped playing that like 3 years ago!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aidan
Noble
avatar

Posts : 2363
Join date : 2010-09-14
Age : 22

Character sheet
DDO character: Fighter
RK Profession: None

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Tue Feb 16, 2016 5:02 am

I can 100% on another forum someone saying "RK is still a thing? I stopped playing that three years ago!" Laughing

_________________

IG NAME: "Aidann."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
viery
Citizen
avatar

Posts : 493
Join date : 2010-09-25
Age : 37
Location : ireland

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Butcher

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:21 am

haha yeah it is still a thing, and a lot healthier than RK it seems :p

I cant think of anything that is similar to RK really :/
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ahlia
Knight
avatar

Posts : 1007
Join date : 2012-05-14
Age : 26
Location : An Gort

Character sheet
DDO character:
RK Profession: Miller

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:36 am

Upcoming MMO that you might want to look out for. http://imgur.com/gallery/wzdAg


Found this on Imgur. Looks interesting.
Should we give it a try?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
anto_capone
Royal
avatar

Posts : 16393
Join date : 2010-09-11
Age : 38
Location : Che cazzo fai?

Character sheet
DDO character: Ranger
RK Profession: Blacksmith

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sat Feb 20, 2016 2:30 pm

looks promising!

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.nngo.biz
Achilles_
Admin


Posts : 1293
Join date : 2010-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   Sat Feb 20, 2016 4:00 pm

I really like it too. Don't really get the "soul" part but the whole development, aging, and death is exciting.

Their website doesn't seem to be working though, or is it just a problem for me?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Games to Replace RK - Reviews   

Back to top Go down
 
Games to Replace RK - Reviews
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 3Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Eastside Games and Cards Slow Grow League
» Black Powder from Warlord Games
» Newport Games Updates for Week Ending June 19th.
» Newport Games Now Carries Corvus Belli 15mm 100 Years War
» ACME Games is MOVING

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
All your Nachos are belong to us! :: General :: Various Games-
Jump to: